5 July 1822

Appendix Letter 3


5 July 1822

London 5th July 1822.

My dear Dilke,

Yesterday I deposited in the hands of Mr Robert Skynner,2 of No 62 Great Portland Street, my last Will and Testament, wherein I have appointed you my Executor, together with Mr Thomas Richards of the Storekeeper’s Office in the Ordnance Department in the Tower; and likewise I have appointed him and you Guardians to my natural Son, Charles Brown, during his minority. In order to prevent any mistake, I hereby declare that my said natural Son, Charles Brown, is the child who lately resided with me in Wentworth Place, Hampstead, and who at present resides with Mr Thomas Richards in his house at No 9 Providence (or Sidney) Place, near Vauxhall Gardens, and whom I have hitherto always acknowledged as my Son. I intend to take him with me to Italy. He was baptized in the Spanish Chapel in London, and will have completed the second year of his age on the 16th of this month.3

Wishing you health and happiness, and no trouble as my Executor, I remain,

My dear Dilke,
     Your sincere friend,
           Chas Brown.


1 MS: Churchill College Archives Centre, Cambridge (REND 5/5). Printed: Garrett 31 (undated). [Return to the letter]

2 Robert Skynner was a conveyancer, whose home address was 42 Mortimer Street, Cavendish Square (Letters, ii. 90n3). [Return to the letter]

3 Charles "Carlino" Brown was born on 16 July 1820 and baptized 24 September 1820 in the Chapel of the Spanish Embassy, Hartford House, Manchester Square, London. He died in New Zealand in 1901 (Iles 162).[Return to the letter]