The Byron Chronology

The Byron Chronology

Table of Contents

About this Chronology

The Byron Chronology is a searchable hypertext chronology of important dates in the life of George Gordon, Lord Byron. It is designed to function both as a stand-alone resource and in conjunction with The Romantic Chronology at UC Santa Barbara.

This chronology draws almost exclusively from Leslie Marchand's standard three-volume biography of Byron's life, with some additions from the material in Marchand's edition of Byron's Letters and Journals. Page numbers refer to Marchand's three-volume life, except where otherwise noted.

Byron travelled frequently both in England and on the continent, and detailed records of his movements might be of value to scholars using this chronology. To aid in finding specific dates quickly, I have split this chronology into individual periods for faster loading.

Please send comments and suggestions to the Editor of the Byron Chronology, Ann R. Hawkins at

About this Resource

Published @ RC

November 2000